RAM Career Connections Faculty Trailblazers 2018

Brandy Ratcliff

Director of Alternative Certification Teacher Certification Program

Brandy Ratcliff is currently the Director of the Alternative Certification Program at Huston-Tillotson University. Mrs. Ratcliff has a Master’s Degree in Early Childhood Education, and holds a Post-Master’s Principal certification. From 2013-2017, she served as an Assistant Principal in the Austin Independent School District.  She also spent 12 years in the Austin and Hutto Independent School districts as a teacher, instructional specialist, and math coach. Mrs. Ratcliff is very passionate about preparing future educators to be successful working with children from diverse backgrounds.

Dr. Carlos Cervantes

Associate Professor

Dr. Cervantes has a background in physical education, adapted physical education and physical activity promotion. Dr. Cervantes has a number of peer-reviewed publications in the area of physical education. He served as the Assistant Teacher, Eugenio M. De Hostos High School (Title I), Department of Education District of Mayaguez, Commonwealth of Puerto Rico; Adjunct Faculty, Health and Sports Science Department. Capital University, Columbus, Ohio; Assistant Professor, Department of Health and Human Performance, Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas; and is currently Assistant Professor and Chair, Department of Kinesiology, Huston-Tillotson University

Dr.Carolyn Golden

Associate Professor

Dr. Carolyn Golden is the chair of the Computer Science department and Associate Professor of Computer Science at Huston-Tillotson University (HT) in Austin, Texas. She holds a Ph.D. in Applied Management and Decision Sciences with a specialization in Information Systems Management. She has been teaching at HT for 17 years. She has also held adjunct teaching positions at Park University and Austin Community College.

Her computer science career started at IBM where she was a Systems Programmer/Systems Analyst for over 30 years. While at IBM, she was responsible for developing Market-Driven Quality Reports for Managers about programmer productivity based on the following criteria: lines of code written, lines of code that contained bugs, lines of code that contained program fixes (PTMS or APARS), and the number of bugs per program fix. She has worked as a team leader and a project manager at IBM and FIC Insurance Company.

At HT, she is the faculty advisor of the Beta Kappa Chi (BKX) Scientific Honor Society. The society’s main goal is to encourage scientific research among undergraduate students.

Dr. Golden holds a BS degree in Mathematics Education from Norfolk State University and a MS degree in Computer Science and Applications from Va. Tech. She is the mother of two daughters, Letricia and Kathleen.

Dr. Rhonda Moses

Higher Education Administrator

Dr. Rhonda Moses is currently the Dean of Enrollment Management at Huston-Tillotson University.  Dr. Moses has a Ph.D. in Educational Leadership, a Master’s degree in Education Administration with a focus on higher education, a Post-Master’s Certification in Enrollment Management via Rufalo Noel Levitz and Capella University, and a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration.  Dr. Moses has dedicated her career to college-readiness and student success programs (i.e. Living and Learning Communities, Upward Bound, Educational Talent Search, Student Support Services, Ronald E. McNair) and has conducted extensive research in the area of “African American and Latino Retention in Higher Education”. Dr. Moses has taught the following subject matter: Sociology, College Algebra, Introduction to Statistics, and  First Year Experience.

Dr. Azubike Okpalaeze

Associate Professor

Computer Information Systems professional with background in Educational programs; Systems and Instructional hardware and software adaptation in teaching and learning; Design, Support, and Installation to enhance activities in areas such as curriculum development, students assessment, student advisement, and program assessment. Dr. Okpalaeze has proven ability to provide quality education for the promotion of CS/CIS education programs through direct hands on training,

Dr. Lorraine Samuels

Associate Professor

Dr. Samuels is an Associate Professor of Criminal Justice at Huston Tillotson University, Austin TX.  She holds a doctorate in Juvenile Justice from Prairie View A & M University—with this, she became the first female in the country to earn this degree. Dr. Samuels also holds Masters degrees in Juvenile Justice and in Business Administration. She is the current Chair of the Social & Behavioral Sciences Department. Among courses taught are: Introduction to Criminal Justice, American Court Systems, Juvenile Justice, Probation & Parole, Immigration and Crime, Homeland Security, Senior Seminar and Internships in Criminal Justice. Among her interests: Children of the Deported, Human Trafficking, the Juvenile Justice System: Protecting our Children.

Mr. Jason Carter

Assistance Professor

Mr. Jason Carter is currently an Assistant Professor in the School of Business and Technology at Huston-Tillotson University.  Mr. Carter has a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration specializing in Economics and Finance, an MBA Specializing in International Management and is currently working on a Ph.D. in Global Leadership, with a focus on Organizational Management.

Dr. Rohan Thompson

Associate Professor

Rohan Thompson moved to the United States from Barbados. He studied Management and Marketing at Wayland Baptist University and later obtained a Ph.D. in Global Leadership from Indiana Technology of Institute. An analytical strategist with a record of successful initiatives that increased revenue and competitiveness in business organizations and an exceptional educator with over seven years of teaching and instructional design in American universities. In his free time, Rohan loves to attend sporting events. Grateful for the opportunity to be a head college track and field coach, Rohan was part of seven NAIA national championships and twice named national coach of the year.